PHHP recognizes Employees of the Year

The UF College of Public Health and Health Professions recognized Sharla Alexander and Caronne Rush as the 2016 PHHP Employees of the Year at the annual staff and faculty appreciation dinner held Dec. 1. As a human resources assistant in the department of speech, language and hearing sciences, Alexander is often one of the first people with whom newcomers interact and she makes everyone feel special, her co-workers said. “She is welcoming and warm with everyone, from international students to new faculty, and goes out of her way to make sure everything they need to get started with the department is taken care of,” a colleague wrote. Rush, an academic coordinator and administrative assistant to the chair in the department of environmental and global health, serves as the primary liaison with the department’s more than 50 graduate students. “If she notices that a new student may be struggling to adjust, she reaches out to find out how she can make their life easier,” a student wrote.

College of Medicine

F. Jay Fricker, M.D. — the Gerold L. Schiebler Eminent Scholar in Pediatric Cardiology, has been selected as a co-director of the pediatric residency global health track at the UF College of Medicine alongside Diomel de la Cruz, M.D., an assistant professor in the division of neonatology. Fricker has served on the board of directors for Amazon Vision ministries, reviewed medical records for Little Hearts Medical of Chinese orphans with congenital heart disease who were adopted by U.S. families, and participated in cardiology surgical missions for the Palestinian Children’s Relief Fund in the West Bank and Gaza.

Christopher E. Forsmark, M.D. – chief of the division of gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition, was awarded the Vay Liang & Frisca Go Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2016 annual meeting of the American Pancreatic Association. The award recognizes leaders within the organization who have served as mentors and role models for future generations of pancreatic researchers and physicians.

College of Nursing

Anna M. McDaniel, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN – was elected as the co‐chair of the American Academy of Nursing’s Informatics and Technology Expert Panel. The panel gathers health policy data and advises the academy on issues related to health information management, implementation of informatics and technology, HIPAA, patient safety initiatives, consumer and personal health, and other areas of concern related to the use of informatics and technology in nursing education, practice and research.

Versie Johnson-Mallard, Ph.D., ARNP, FAAN – was elected co-chair of the American Academy of Nursing’s Women’s Health Expert Panel. The panel aims to reduce health care disparities and inequalities and strengthen the nursing and health care delivery system nationally and internationally.

Robert Lucero, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.N., FAAN – has been appointed a standing member of the health information technology research study section for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. This is a three‐year appointment where he will serve as a reviewer of grant proposals to support research and training to improve the quality, effectiveness, accessibility and cost-effectiveness of health care.

College of Pharmacy

Hartmut Derendorf, Ph.D. – a professor of pharmaceutics and the V. Ravi Chandran Professor in Pharmaceutical Sciences, has been invited to serve on an expert review panel at NASA that will examine the Pharmaceutical Research Plan developed by the NASA Human Research Program’s Exploration Medical Capability Element Pharmacy Team. The plan aims to develop a safe and effective medication formulary for long-duration exploration spaceflight missions.

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Somnath Datta, Ph.D. – a professor in the department of biostatistics, has been elected president of the International Indian Statistical Association for the 2018 term. The association seeks to promote education, research and application of statistics and probability throughout the world, with a special emphasis on the Indian subcontinent.

Paul Arthur, Ph.D., OTR/L – a research assistant professor in the department of occupational therapy, has been appointed by Gov. Rick Scott to the Florida Board of Occupational Therapy Practice. The board enforces laws regarding professional practice, including adopting rules and policies that establish minimum regulatory standards for safe practice, and regulating the scope of the profession as described in the Florida Practice Act and associated rules.

College of Veterinary Medicine

Julie Levy, D.V.M. – a professor of shelter medicine, has received the Meritorious Service Award from the Association of Shelter Veterinarians. A board-certified small animal internal medicine specialist, Levy is associated with the UF Maddie’s Shelter Medicine Program. Levy also co-founded Operation Catnip, an organization that brings together veterinarians, technicians, students and community volunteers in an effort to trap, neuter and return stray and feral cats to their environment. She brought the program to UF when she joined the veterinary medical faculty in 1998.

Share this article with others:
  • E-mail this story to a friend!
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • Twitter

February 2017

Face-to-face pharmacists

Four students recognized nationally for medication reconciliation

Blunting Ebola

University of Florida researchers worked together with an international group of researchers associated with the World Health Organization to develop and test a safe and effective vaccine to prevent Ebola infection.

Synthetic surgery

Veterinary students hone skills on artificial canine cadavers

A passion for parasites

A shift in career focus leads to high honor for veterinary instructor

...also in this issue