November 2010 Distinctions


Eric Conde

Eric H. Conde, M.S.A., an assistant dean for administrative affairs in the College of Medicine-Jacksonville, has been selected as the Region III director and board member for the American Academy of Medical Administrators. He will begin a two-year term Jan. 1. AAMA’s mission is to advance excellence in health care leadership.

Ann Harwood-Nuss

Ann L. Harwood-Nuss, M.D., a professor and assistant dean for program development at the College of Medicine-Jacksonville will serve a three-year appointment as a member of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine’s new Medicine Alumni Advisory Board. Harwood-Nuss received her medical degree from the University of Iowa College of Medicine.

Patrick Monaghan

Patrick Monaghan, Ph.D., C.L.S., a research professor in the department of anesthesiology at the UF College of Medicine-Jacksonville, was chosen to receive the U.S. Department of Defense Armed Services Blood Program Lifetime Achievement Award. Monaghan received the award Oct. 9 at the American Association of Blood Banks’ Cellular Therapy and Transfusion Medicine Expo in Baltimore. Lt. Gen. Eric Schoomaker, M.D., Ph.D., the surgeon general of the U.S. Army and commanding general of the U.S. Army Medical Command, presented the award. Monaghan began his military career in 1961 when he enlisted as a hospital corpsman. He completed his active military service 27 years later at the rank of commander and assistant dean for graduate and continuing education at the F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences.

Michael Suk

Michael Suk, M.D., J.D., M.P.H., an associate professor and chief of orthopaedic trauma surgery and associate program director of the orthopaedic surgery residency program at the College of Medicine-Jacksonville, was selected to serve as chair of the Orthopaedic Trauma Association Health Policy Committee. Suk has received a slew of other honors lately, as well. Suk recently was elected as secretary/treasurer of the Florida Orthopaedic Society for a two-year term. In addition, he was selected for the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Leadership Fellows Program, a one-year program geared to help develop future AAOS leaders. Suk also has co-authored the second edition of the reference book Outcomes Measures and Instruments.

College of Medicine

Richard Davidson

Richard Davidson, M.D., M.P.H., a professor of medicine and director of the Office of Generalist and Interdisciplinary Education, has been named associate vice president for health affairs for interprofessional education. In this role, Davidson will lead a committee that will develop an interdisciplinary curriculum for students across the Health Science Center.

Marvin Dewar

Marvin A. Dewar, M.D., J.D., has been appointed senior associate dean, chief executive officer and chief medical officer of UF Physicians, the faculty group practice of the UF College of Medicine. Dewar, a long-time faculty member in the department of community health and family medicine, has helped guide UF’s faculty practice through several key initiatives designed to improve quality of care and patient safety.

Robert Hromas

Robert Hromas, M.D., a professor and the chief of hematology-oncology at the University of New Mexico, has been named chair of the department of medicine, effective Feb. 14. A leading authority on blood cancers, Hromas also serves as deputy director of the UNM Cancer Center — the official cancer center of New Mexico and one of only 66 National Cancer Institute-designated centers in the United States. Hromas recently cloned and characterized a novel DNA repair protein that plays a crucial role in both chemotherapy resistance and in HIV integration. He has created new drugs that target this protein and is testing them for effectiveness in treating cancers resistant to chemotherapy. “He is a rare quadruple talent,” said Paul Okunieff, M.D., director of the UF Shands Cancer Center. “As an administrator, scientist, visionary leader, clinician — he does it all well and is well-regarded for it.” Hromas will replace Edward R. Block, M.D., who is retiring after serving more than eight years as chair of the department.

Ralph Rice, DHSc, PA-C, has been appointed associate dean and director of the School of Physician Assistant Studies. Rice, who was recognized last year as a distinguished fellow by the American Academy of Physician Assistants, comes to UF from the department of physician assistant studies at the Wake Forest University School of Medicine, where he is an associate professor and associate program director. He was chosen to lead the UF physician assistant program following a national search to replace Wayne Bottom, M.P.H., PA-C, who retired in June after guiding the program for 27 years.

College of Pharmacy

Katie Vogel Anderson

Erin St. Onge

Katie Vogel Anderson, Pharm.D., a clinical assistant professor of pharmacotherapy and translational research, and Erin St. Onge, Pharm.D., an assistant dean and director of the college’s Orlando Campus, have been appointed as new board members for the Florida Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Anderson and St. Onge will serve this year as board-elect members. Beginning in August 2011, they will serve two additional years as voting board members.

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Sherrilene Classen

Sherrilene Classen, Ph.D., an associate professor in the department of occupational therapy, was appointed as an extraordinary professor by the University of Stellenbosch in South Africa for her expertise in the field. She will help the university design a curriculum for a Ph.D. in occupational therapy, facilitate a student exchange program and collaborate on road safety research.

Rahul Shrivastav

Rahul Shrivastav, Ph.D., an associate professor in the department of speech, language and hearing sciences, was appointed associate editor for voice for Folia Phoniatrica et Logopaedica, the official journal of the International Association of Logopedics and Phoniatrics.