December/January Distinctions

December/January Distinctions

College of Dentistry

Matthew J. Dennis

Matthew J. Dennis, D.D.S., a clinical professor of oral and maxillofacial surgery, received the 2010 Daniel M. Laskin Award for an outstanding predoctoral educator in September during the 92nd Annual Meeting of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons. Dennis directs the predoctoral oral and maxillofacial surgery program for dental students.

Emma Lewis

Emma Lewis, B.D.S., M.B.B.S., has been named director of the oral and maxillofacial surgery residency program, effective January 2011. Lewis brings extensive training in dentistry, medicine and surgery, and expertise in surgery education to her new position. She also is involved in a number of interdisciplinary research projects, including implant and bisphosphonate studies.

Luciana Shaddox

Luciana Shaddox, D.D.S., Ph.D., an assistant professor, received the prestigious American Academy of Periodontology Teaching Fellowship Award during the association’s annual meeting in October. Given by the AAP Foundation, the award recognizes a successful young faculty member in periodontology and provides a $50,000 salary supplement as a stimulus to keep young faculty members in academia.


Ashley Booth

Ashley E. Booth, M.D., an assistant professor and associate program director of the emergency medicine residency program, has been named president-elect for the Duval County Medical Society. Founded in 1853, the DCMS is the oldest medical society in Florida and serves as the voice for organized medicine in Duval County. Its mission is to promote the delivery of and access to high-quality, ethical medical care for the community, and to serve as an advocate for physician members and their patients.

Jeff Goldhagen

Jeffrey Goldhagen, M.D., M.P.H., received the 2010 Community Service Award from the Duval County Medical Society in recognition of his more than 15 years of advocacy for underserved and disadvantaged children of Northeast Florida. A professor in the department of pediatrics and chief of the division of community pediatrics, Goldhagen develops and oversees programs for children who are marginalized by physical conditions and social and environmental determinants, including those who are homeless, terminally and chronically ill, in foster care and in transition from pediatric to adult care. In addition, his volunteer service in support of these programs is significant.

Andrew Kaunitz

Andrew M. Kaunitz, M.D, a professor and associate chair of the department of obstetrics and gynecology, has joined the editorial board of the journal Menopause. Menopause provides a forum for new research, applied basic science and clinical guidelines on all aspects of menopause. Published by the North American Menopause Society, the journal features peer-reviewed, original research papers and review articles.

College of Medicine

Tim Flynn

Timothy C. Flynn, M.D., senior associate dean for clinical affairs and chief medical officer for Shands at UF, now chairs the American College of Surgeons’ Board of Governors. Flynn, a UF vascular surgeon, was elected to the one-year leadership term during the organization’s annual meeting this fall. The Board of Governors’ primary role is to act as a liaison between the college’s fellows and its Board of Regents, which manages the organization. Flynn has been a member of the ACS since 1984 and has served on the Board of Governors for the past five years.

David W. Mozingo

David Mozingo, M.D., a professor of surgery and anesthesiology, has been appointed interim trauma medical director for Shands at UF’s Level I Trauma Center. He also serves as interim chief of the division of acute care surgery in the UF department of surgery. Mozingo, who is nationally recognized for his expertise in burn care, has served as director of the Shands Burn Center at UF since 1996. He also is a member of many national burn and trauma committees, and is a leader in burn research.

Marian Limacher

Marian C. Limacher, M.D., the Suncoast endowed professor in cardiovascular research, has been named senior associate dean for faculty affairs and professional development for the college. In this new role, Limacher will focus on implementing collegewide programs that help faculty advance in their professional careers. She also will oversee initiatives to update promotion and tenure processes, enhance diversity of college faculty, and implement orientation, educational, mentoring and recognition programs that aim to improve faculty satisfaction, well-being and performance.

College of Pharmacy

Charles Peloquin

Charles Peloquin, Pharm.D., a professor and director of the Infectious Disease Pharmacokinetics Lab, has been elected as a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy. Fellowship status is the highest honor the ACCP bestows upon its members and is given in recognition of the highest level of excellence in both science and practice of clinical pharmacy.

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Dorian Rose

Dorian Rose, Ph.D., P.T., a research assistant professor in the department of physical therapy, received the 2010 J. Brooks Brown Annual Research Award. The Jacksonville-based Brooks Rehabilitation presents the award, in honor of its founder, to an individual who demonstrates outstanding dedication, passion, service, commitment and clinical excellence in research. Rose studies intervention strategies based on principles of neuroplasticity and motor learning for the rehabilitation of motor control deficits in people who have experienced a stroke.

College of Veterinary Medicine

Karen Legato

Karen Legato, senior director of development and alumni affairs, has become the first recipient of the UF Foundation’s Debbie Klapp Memorial Award. Criteria for the award included unique overall achievement, strong collaboration, mentorship and creativity in approaching job, career and life. Legato, a member of the UF veterinary college’s development staff since 1999, has 27 years of professional fundraising experience. She has worked with donor events, corporate solicitations and campus campaigns, and was promoted into her present position at the college in 2008.