March Distinctions

March Distinctions

Million-dollar renewal

The UF Medication Therapy Management Communication and Care Center has received a $1.42 million contract renewal from WellCare Health Plans Inc. “Thousands of WellCare members benefit from UF faculty, staff and student pharmacists providing MTM services,” said David Angaran, M.S., director of the center. Shown here with students working in the call center are center staff members (from left) Heather Hardin, Pharm.D.; Anna Hall, Pharm.D.; Teresa Roane, Pharm.D.; and Michele Lawson, R.H.I.T.

College of Medicine

Frederick A. Moore, M.D., chief of the department of surgery’s acute care surgery service and a professor of surgery, has been selected as a Master Critical Care Medicine Fellow in the Society of Critical Care Medicine. Moore and 19 other health care providers received the designation, which was awarded for the first time in February.

Pamela Patton, P.A., M.S.P., the clinical director of kidney and pancreas transplantation, received the 2012 American Society of Transplant Surgeons Advanced Transplant Provider Award at the society’s annual State of the Art Winter Symposium in January. Richard J. Howard, M.D., Ph.D., medical director of LifeQuest Organ Recovery Services at Shands at UF, nominated Patton for the award, calling her “the backbone of our transplant program.”

Daniel F. Pauly, M.D., Ph.D., a professor of medicine in the division of cardiovascular medicine, has been elected to the Florida Medical Association Board of Governors for a three-year term. Pauly will represent District H, which covers 12 counties in Florida, including Alachua and Marion counties. The Florida Medical Association assists more than 20,000 doctors in Florida.

Rebecca R. Pauly, M.D., associate vice president for health affairs, equity and diversity, has been appointed chair-elect of the Association of American Medical Colleges’ Group on Women in Medicine and Science. Founded in 2009, GWIMS aims to advance the full and successful participation of women in all roles within academic medicine and in advancing the AAMC mission to improve the nation’s health.

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Shawna Dell, Au.D., a doctoral candidate in the department of speech, language and hearing sciences, received the American Academy of Audiology’s Academy Research Conference Poster Presentation Scholarship. She will present her poster on the effectiveness of a hearing conservation program in changing children’s positive attitudes toward noise.

Steven George, Ph.D., an associate professor in the department of physical therapy, received the Ulf Lindblom Young Investigator Award for Clinical Science from the International Association for the Study of Pain. The award will be presented at the association’s 14th World Congress on Pain in Milan, Italy in August.

Colleen Le Prell, Ph.D., an associate professor in the department of speech, language and hearing sciences, has been named the director of education of the National Hearing Conservation Association for a one-year term. She has also been invited to deliver the keynote address for the Brazilian Academy of Audiology’s conference in Sao Paulo in April.

The Department of Clinical and Health Psychology received the Award to Advance Interdisciplinary Education and Training in Psychology from the American Psychological Association’s Board of Educational Affairs. The honor comes with a $3,000 award to the department. The department is home to a Ph.D. program in clinical psychology and a predoctoral internship.

College of Veterinary Medicine

Pamela E. Ginn, D.V.M., a veterinary pathologist, has been named associate dean for students and instruction following a national search. Ginn has been a member of the college’s faculty since 1992. She will assume full responsibilities in March, following the retirement of Paul Gibbs, B.V.Sc., Ph.D. “Dr. Ginn has received numerous awards for teaching excellence and has a long-standing interest in students,” said Dean Glen Hoffsis, D.V.M. “She is a great addition to the college administration and will provide strong leadership to the Office for Students and Instruction.”