Advancing clinical and translational science

Congratulations to the trainees and scholars selected to join the UF Clinical and Translational Science Institute’s TL1 Predoctoral Training Program and the Advanced Postgraduate Program in Clinical Investigation this fall. As part of the TL1 Predoctoral Training Program, the following Ph.D. students will receive financial support and research training to develop the skills required to build a career in multidisciplinary translational research relevant to human health: Shruthi Bharadwaj, College of Engineering; Brittany Lee, College of Medicine; Corey Simon, College of Public Health and Health Professions; and Martin Wegman, College of Medicine/ College of Public Health and Health Professions. In addition, as part of the Advanced Postgraduate Program in Clinical Investigation, the following College of Medicine fellows will receive research training, career advisement and tuition support toward a master’s degree or certificate in clinical and translational science: Joyce Gan, M.D., pediatric endocrinology; Rena Harrington, M.D., pediatric endocrinology; and Olorunseun Ogunwobi, M.D., Ph.D., pathology, immunology and laboratory medicine.

College of Dentistry

Frank Catalanotto, D.M.D., a professor and chair of the department of community dentistry and behavioral science, recently accepted leadership positions in two oral health advocacy groups. In August Catalanotto was elected chair of the Leadership Council of Oral Health Florida. In September he was elected to a two-year term as vice chair of the Board of Directors of Oral Health America.  In 2014, he will take over as chair through 2016.

College of Medicine

Stephen Hsu, M.D., Ph.D., an assistant professor of medicine and director of the M.D.-Ph.D. training program, received an Association of American Medical Colleges Award for Innovations in Research Training and Education. According to the AAMC, the award aims to identify bright spots and disseminate innovations in research training and education.

College of Nursing

Barbara Lutz, Ph.D., R.N., an associate professor of nursing, was recently inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. The academy is composed of more than 1,800 nurse leaders who have made significant contributions to nursing and health care. Lutz teaches qualitative research methods for Ph.D. students and public health nursing for undergraduate students. Her research focuses on the areas of access to community-based health care and support services for vulnerable populations, in particular services for family caregivers, persons recovering from stroke, and adults with other chronic, physically disabling conditions.

College of Pharmacy

Rana Montaser and Lilibeth Salvador, graduate students in medicinal chemistry, received awards from the American Society of Pharmacognosy in July at its 53rd annual meeting. Salvador received the Kilmer Prize, established in 1935 in honor of Dr. Frederick Barnett Kilmer, who served for 45 years as the scientific director of the Johnson & Johnson laboratories. Montaser received the inaugural Waqar H. Bhatti Student Travel Award and presented a poster at the meeting.

Vinayak Shenoy, Ph.D., an assistant research scientist, was awarded a Winter 2012 Scientist Development Grant from the American Heart Association. He was awarded $77,000 a year for four years for his research. As a postdoctoral fellow, Shenoy worked under the mentorship of Michael Katovich, Ph.D., a professor of pharmacodynamics.

College of Veterinary Medicine

Daniel Brown, Ph.D., an associate professor in the department of infectious diseases and pathology, recently became chair of the International Organization for Mycoplasmology, a nonprofit scientific group dedicated to the study of a type of bacteria that infect a wide variety of animals. Brown’s work focuses on genetic and taxonomic analyses of pathogenic mycoplasmas and the diseases they may cause in animals and humans.

Ammon B. Peck, Ph.D., recently received the 2012 International Association of Dental Research Distinguished Scientist Award for Salivary Research. Peck recently became the associate dean for research and graduate studies in the UF College of Veterinary Medicine. Prior to that, he was a jointly appointed professor in the College of Dentistry department of oral biology and the College of Medicine department of pathology, immunology and laboratory medicine.

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Diana Guercio, a Doctor of Audiology student, received a 2012 Empowering People Scholarship from the American Academy of Audiology Foundation. The $5,000 award recognizes students who show exceptional promise as clinical audiologists.

Thomas Kerkhoff, Ph.D., a clinical professor in the department of clinical and health psychology, received the 2012 Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Psychological Association’s Rehabilitation Psychology division.

Ronald Rozensky, Ph.D., a professor in the department of clinical and health psychology, received the American Psychological Association Board of Educational Affairs’ Education Advocacy Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his personal and professional commitment to advancing psychology education and training.