CTSI honors

CTSI honors

The UF Clinical and Translational Science Institute recently awarded a new round of one-year intramural pilot grants, providing approximately $250,000 in support of 14 projects led by investigators from six colleges. CTSI Pilot Project Awards support the growth of interdisciplinary and investigator-initiated research and provide three categories of support: trainee, junior faculty and novel methods and technologies. Areas of special interest for this round of awards included collaborations with the CTSI Biorepository and the CTSI Human Imaging Core. Congratulations to the following recipients:

College of Engineering

Josephine Allen, Ph.D. (junior faculty)

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Natalie C. Ebner, Ph.D. (junior faculty)

College of Medicine

Andrew H. Ahn, M.D., Ph.D.
(novel methods and technologies)

Michael Byrne, D.O. (trainee)

Timothy Garrett, Ph.D.
(novel methods and technologies)

Thomas J. George Jr., M.D. (junior faculty)

Rena Harrington, M.D. (trainee)

Shouguang Jin, Ph.D.
(novel methods and technologies)

Nishanth E. Sunny, Ph.D. (junior faculty)

College of Pharmacy

Stephan Schmidt, Ph.D. (junior faculty)

Xin (Cindy) Qi, Ph.D. (junior faculty)

College of Public Health & Health Professions

Jason Gravano, M.S. (trainee)

Tanisha Hill-Jarrett (trainee)

College of Veterinary Medicine

Beata Clapp, D.V.M., Ph.D. (novel methods and technologies)

CTSI Academy of Research Excellence

The UF Clinical and Translational Science Institute’s Academy of Research Excellence welcomes its second class of 14 investigators from seven colleges pursuing a six-month Master Certificate for Excellence in Human Subject Research and Protections, completion of which leads to membership in the academy:

College of Agricultural and Life Sciences/ North Florida/South Georgia Veterans Health System

Sean C. McCoy, Ph.D.

College of Dentistry

Özlem Yilmaz, D.D.S., Ph.D.

College of Fine Arts

Jennifer Lee, M.A.

College of Medicine

Marie-Carmelle Elie, M.D., RDMS

Priya K. Gopalan, M.D., Ph.D.

Robert W. Hurley, M.D., Ph.D.

Lisa J. Merlo, Ph.D., M.P.E.

Charles E. Riggs Jr., M.D.

William Slayton, M.D.

Kevin R. Vincent, M.D., Ph.D.

College of Medicine-Jacksonville

Phyllis L. Hendry, M.D.

College of Medicine/College of Public Health and Health Professions

Catherine W. Striley, Ph.D., M.S.W., M.P.E.

College of Nursing/North Florida/South Georgia Veterans Health System

Linda Cowan, Ph.D., ARNP (FNP-BC), CWS

College of Pharmacy

Rhonda Cooper-DeHoff, Pharm.D., M.S.