Double the distinctions

UF Health received two 2013 grants from the LIVESTRONG Foundation for the Gainesville and Jacksonville campuses following a two-week online voting campaign across the nation. The Shands Arts in Medicine program in Gainesville will receive funding to participate in The Creative Center at University Settlement, Outpatient Arts Program, while UF Health Jacksonville will receive grant money to participate in the Joint Commission’s Advanced Certification Program for Palliative Care model program. In total, more than $1 million will be distributed among 72 hospitals, cancer centers, universities and community-based organizations across the nation this year.


Animal accolades

A University of Florida hospital administrator, a couple whose efforts have enhanced shelter medicine, a former veterinary dermatology professor, a pet-hospice entrepreneur and a small animal practitioner received the College of Veterinary Medicine’s 2013 Distinguished Awards. UF Veterinary Hospitals Chief of Staff Dana Zimmel, D.V.M., won the Alumni Achievement Award. Wife and husband Lisa Centonze, D.V.M., and Vincent Centonze, D.V.M., received the Distinguished Service Award. Gail Kunkle, D.V.M., a professor emeritus of veterinary dermatology who served on the UF faculty for almost 30 years before retiring in 2008, received the Special Service Award. There were two winners in the Young Alumni Award category — Dani McVety, D.V.M., and Destiny Prezzano, D.V.M. The awards were presented on May 25 at the Phillips Center for the Performing Arts during college commencement exercises.


Coordinating coordinators

The first cohort of 12 research coordinators have been selected to participate in the CTSI Academy of Research Excellence’s Research Coordinator Program for Excellence in Human Subject Research, an advanced four-month program focusing on regulatory requirements, informed consent training, and research integrity and professionalism. The coordinators include: Alice Boyette, North Florida/ South Georgia Veterans Health System Research Service; Rebekah Bush, College of Dentistry; Katie Eddleton, M.P.H., College of Medicine; Marcia Hodik, R.N., College of Medicine; Alison Ivey, R.N., UF Health Cancer Center; Janet King, R.N., UF Clinical Research Center; Stacy Merritt, M.A., UF Health Center for Movement Disorders and Neurorestoration; Leslie Pettiford, R.N., UF Health Cancer Center; Kellie Ritari, R.N., College of Medicine; Debra Robertson, R.N., College of Medicine; Corrine Ruktanonchai, M.P.H., C.P.H., Epidemiology; and Jennifer Steshyn, M.A.B.M.H., College of Medicine.


College of Dentistry

Luisa Echeto, D.D.S., M.S., a clinical associate professor in the department of restorative dental sciences, was selected for 2013-14 class of the UF Leadership Academy. Echeto was one of 16 applicants selected from throughout the university as part of a competitive application process.

Shannon Wallet, Ph.D., an assistant professor of periodontology, received the Excellence Award for Assistant Professors from the Provost’s Office in May 2013. Wallet’s research focuses on innate immune responses in both Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes with the understanding that they are similar diseases with different mechanisms leading to manifestation.

College of Medicine

Mark S. Gold, M.D., chair of the department of psychiatry and the Donald R. Dizney eminent scholar, received the award for the Distinguished International Scientist category from the China Academy of Sciences. The award was presented at the China Academy of Sciences Laboratory for Translational Research in April.

David E. Winchester, M.D., an assistant professor of medicine in the division of cardiovascular medicine, received the Academy Health Presidential Scholarship for New Health Services Researchers. The award is only given to five candidates who have potential to contribute to research regarding health services research and policy.

College of Nursing

Angela White, M.S.N., A.R.N.P., a doctoral student in the college, was among a select group chosen nationally to receive a Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing grant to support her dissertation research. White will use the $5,000 award to fund her research studying ways nurses can connect resources to develop a model of social networks and services for the homeless in suburban communities.

Public Health and Health Professions

Sarah Bauer, a doctoral student in health services research, has received an intramural summer fellowship with the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Bauer will work with senior economists at the Center for Delivery, Organization, and Markets on a project examining the spillover effects of the utilization of health care services by Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries on the utilization of health care services by Medicare Advantage enrollees.

Joel Bialosky, Ph.D., P.T., a clinical assistant professor of physical therapy, is the recipient of the American Physical Therapy Association’s 2013 Margaret Moore Outstanding New Faculty Member Award. The award recognizes scholarly activities, teaching excellence, commitment to service and distinct expertise in at least one subject area.

Michael Marsiske, Ph.D., an associate professor and associate chair for research in the department of clinical and health psychology, is one of five UF faculty members to receive the UF Graduate School’s 2013 Doctoral Mentoring Award for excellence, innovation and effectiveness in mentoring. He was also named the PHHP 2012-2013 Doctoral Mentor of the Year at the college’s convocation ceremony May 3.

College of Veterinary Medicine

Rachel DiSesa, the administrative assistant to the dean, was recently named Citizen of the Year by a professional veterinarian association in Florida. The Florida Veterinary Medical Association presented DiSesa with the award in April during its annual meeting in Orlando. The award is given to a non-veterinarian who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the association and to the veterinary profession.