True investiGators

True investiGators

UF Health researchers and scientists-in-training revealed their latest work and discoveries during Research Day celebrations this spring.

Photo by Jesse S. Jones

Photo by Jesse S. Jones

College of Dentistry

Poster Presentation Awards:

First place: Sasanka Chukkapalli, Ann Decker, Scott Harden, Zachary Moye, Neha Shah

Second place: Nourhan Abdel-Rahim, Ericka Bennett


Oral Presentation Awards:

First place: Kyle Heim, Nancy Huynh, Danny Kalash

Second place: Heather Brown, Peter Mecham


Poster Presentation Awards:

First place: Ann Decker

Second place: Clara Vu


ADA/Dentsply Student Clinician Student Research

Program Award: Nourhan Abdel-Rahim


College of Medicine

Medical Guild Graduate Research Awards:

Gold: Stephan Jahn, Ranjan Batra

Silver: Hyun Min Jung

Bronze: Chao Liu, Cristina Banuelos, Mayank Aggarwal


Advancement to Candidacy Award: Jacob Richards, Geoffrey Rogers, Alfredo Sklar


Lifetime Achievement Awards: Kenneth I. Berns, Leslie J. Gonzalez-Rothi, Janet H. Silverstein, Edward Valenstein


The Basic Science Research Award: Douglas G. McFadden


The Clinical Science Research Award: Carmen Allegra


College of Medicine-Jacksonville

Robert C. Nuss Research/Scholar of the Year Award: Andrew M. Kaunitz


Platform Presentation:

First place: Ravi Keshavamurthy

Second place: Camille McGaw

Third place: Dylan Nugent

Fourth place: Estela Thano

Fifth place: Sumit Narula

Sixth place: Amy Boots


Poster Presentation:

First place: Andrew Darlington

Second place: Saran Wells

Third place: Andrea McNab

Fourth place: Jennifer Johnson

Fifth place: Garry McCulloch

Sixth place: Lori Gurien


College of Nursing

Undergraduate award recipients:

First place: Sydney Mason and Keore Smith

Second place: Benita Patel and Amanda Thornton


Graduate award recipients:

First place: Katherine Swan

Second place: Jill Stephens


College of Pharmacy

Oral competition

Senior division: Lilibeth Salvador

Junior division: Luning Zhuang

Levitt division: Wei Liu


Poster competition

Professional student division: Chestine Libema, Vaishali Shah


Graduate student division: Erin Bruce, Mohamed Hossam Shahin

Postdoctoral student division: Caitrin McDonough


College of Public Health and Health Professions

Undergraduate award recipients: Lisbet Fernandez, Alex Madalfi , Emily White


Highest-ranked graduate student abstract: Brandon Roberts


Graduate student poster awardees: Manal Alabduljabbar, Jessica Berman, Margo Klar, Taylor Kuhn, Melissa Laitner, Nadine Schwab, Marie Nancy Seraphin, Sunil Swami, Thomas Alex Weppelmann


Graduate student poster awardees: Sarah Bauer, Christopher Besser, Daniel Furnas, Elisa Gonzalez-Rothi, Hui Hu, Sahana Kamath, Helena Laciuga, Yoonjeong Lim, Chukwuemeka Okafor, Karlyn Vatthauer


College of Veterinary Medicine

Phi Zeta Student Awards

Poster session

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine student division: Charlotte Jones, Kelly McGowan, Elizabeth Weber


Graduate students: Ketumaranahalli Nanjappa, Katherine Saylor

Residents: Sarah Beatty, Hirotaka Kondo


Platform session

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine student division: Kali Standorf, Whitney Topmiller, Gina Zambrano

Graduate students: Shannon Roff, Nanny Wenzlow

Residents: Laura Cuddy, Louise Husted, Ashley Jones, Valery Scharf


Phi Zeta Faculty Awards

FVMA Clinical Investigator Award: Rick Alleman

C.E. Cornelius Young Investigator Award: James Wellehan

Zoetis Animal Health Award for Research Excellence: Sergei Tevosian


Phi Zeta Graduate Awards

Charles F. Simpson Memorial Scholarship Award: Katherine Saylor

CVM Excellence in Clinical Science Research Award: Laura Cuddy

CVM Excellence in Basic Science Research Award: Laura Cuddy

CVM Excellence in Doctoral Studies Award: Hsiu-Wen “Irene” Tsai

CVM Excellence in Master’s Studies Award: Jay Coisman