College of Dentistry

Nereyda (Nery) Clark, D.M.D., an associate professor in the department of restorative dental sciences, received a Top Faculty Mentor award from MedEdPORTAL for her efforts on the Faculty Mentor Pilot Program that began in February 2013. Clark was one of four awardees from across the United States.

Carol Stewart, D.D.S., M.S., was recently chosen president-elect of the American Academy of Oral Medicine at their annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas. She was also appointed to the editorial board of the OOOOE Journal, which is the official publication for four societies — Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology and Oral Radiology. Stewart is a professor in the UF department of oral and maxillofacial diagnostic sciences.

College of Medicine

Jeffrey R. Martens, Ph.D., has been appointed chair of the department of pharmacology and therapeutics. Martens is currently an associate professor of pharmacology and chairman of the pharmacology graduate program at the University of Michigan. He will begin his new role Jan. 1.

Laurence M. Solberg, M.D., an associate professor of aging and geriatric research, has been appointed chief of the division of geriatric medicine in the UF College of Medicine department of aging and geriatric research. Under his leadership, the division is launching initiatives that will improve the quality of care for older adults and strengthen relationships with physicians and services within the UF Health system and surrounding communities.

College of Pharmacy

W. Thomas Smith, Pharm.D., J.D., a clinical associate professor of pharmaceutical outcomes and policy, has accepted a leadership role in the Health Law Section of the American Bar Association. Smith joins a 13-member governing council that represents more than 9,600 members nationally. Health Law Section members of the ABA broadly serve the health-care industry, pharmaceutical companies and manufacturers, academic and research institutions, and governmental health care agencies and programs.

College of Veterinary Medicine

James W. Lloyd, D.V.M., Ph.D., dean of the college, was recently honored for his leadership in advocating for diversity and inclusion within the veterinary profession. The Lesbian and Gay Veterinary Medical Association presented one of two 2013 Leadership Awards to Lloyd during the group’s annual meeting, held in conjunction with the American Veterinary Medical Association’s convention in Chicago.

Dana N. Zimmel, D.V.M., chief of staff for the UF Veterinary Hospitals, graduated from the HERS Bryn Mawr Summer Institute in July. The program is one of three summer institutes offered by the educational non-profit Higher Education Resource Services, or HERS . Nominated by Glen Hoffsis, D.V.M., former dean of the UF College of Veterinary Medicine, Zimmel was selected by HERS from a competitive pool of applicants.

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Glenna Ashton, Ph.D., a senior lecturer in the department of speech, language, and hearing sciences, was appointed by Gov. Rick Scott to a three-year term on the Florida Coordinating Council for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. She occupies Seat 1, representing the Florida Association of the Deaf.

Amy V. Blue, Ph.D., has been named associate dean for educational affairs in the college and associate vice president for interprofessional education in the UF Health Office of the Senior Vice President for Health Affairs. Blue will divide her time evenly between the two positions.


Mobeen H. Rathore, M.D., a professor of pediatrics and director of the UF Center for HI V/AI DS Research, Education and Service, was recently appointed to the Committee on Infectious Diseases of the American Academy of Pediatrics. The committee is responsible for the publication of the Red Book, regarded worldwide as the most authoritative reference in the management of infectious diseases in children.

Ayesha Mirza, M.D., an associate professor of pediatrics and medical director of the UF Center for HI V/AI DS Research, Education and Service, was recently appointed to the Committee on Pediatric AI DS of the American Academy of Pediatrics. This committee is responsible for setting policy and management guidelines for care of infants, children and adolescents exposed to or infected by HIV.