Excellence in nursing

The Florida Nurses Association has selected three UF College of Nursing faculty members as part of its Great 100 Nurses in Florida. clinical assistant professor Jane Gannon, D.N.P., C.N.M., C.N.L., and clinical assistant professor Rosalyn R. Reischman, D.S.N., A.R.N.P., were named Great 100 Nurse Educators, and associate professor Ann Horgas, Ph.D., R.N., was named a Great 100 Nurse Researcher. Former dean Lois Malasanos also posthumously received the Great 100 Nightingale Tribute at the association’s Annual Awards Ceremony. The Florida Nurses Association’s Great 100 Nurses recognizes nurse leaders around the state for their achievements in nursing CARE, an acronym for eight nursing roles in clinical/community, administration/advocacy, research/role model and education/entrepreneur.


CEO honor

Timothy M. Goldfarb, CEO of UF Health Shands Hospital, has been elected chair of the board of directors of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, the organization charged with accreditation of post-M.D. medical training programs within the United States. “I am very appreciative of Tim’s national leadership, not only in the clinical side of hospital care, but also in the education of our residents, the newest physicians,” said David S. Guzick, M.D., Ph.D., UF senior vice president for health affairs and president of UF Health. “As a teaching hospital and academic health center, we are committed to providing excellence in patient care, research and education. Tim’s dedication to working with national organizations like the ACGME helps us grow and continue to improve.” Goldfarb has been the CEO of UF Health Shands Hospital since July 2001.


College of Dentistry

Calogero Dolce, D.D.S., Ph.D., has been appointed chair of the department of orthodontics, effective Oct. 25. A tenured professor, he has been with the college for 17 years and has served as the department’s interim chair since October 2012.

Carol Stewart, D.D.S., M.S., a professor in the department of oral and maxillofacial diagnostic sciences, has been appointed to serve as interim clinical associate dean for the college, effective Oct. 11. Stewart has been with the college since February 1985, serving in various positions including as associate dean for clinical affairs from 1999 to 2002.


College of Medicine

Thomas Beaver, M.D., M.P.H., a professor of surgery, has been named the new chief of the division of thoracic and cardiovascular surgery. Beaver served as interim chief of the division this year. His clinical and research interests include outcomes following thoracic aortic surgery and the surgical treatment of atrial fibrillation, as well as renal protection strategies during cardiac surgery.

Leslie Gonzalez Rothi, Ph.D., a professor of neurology in the college and a professor of clinical and health psychology, and speech, language and hearing sciences in the College of Public Health and Health Professions, has been selected to the Association of Veterans Affairs Speech-Language Pathologists’ 2013 Hall of Fame. The honor recognizes Gonzalez Rothi’s sustained contributions to the practice of speech-language pathology throughout the course of a career serving veterans. Gonzalez Rothi was the first program director of the Brain Rehabilitation Research Center of Excellence at UF.


College of Pharmacy

John C. Ressler, M.A.E., a coordinator for computer applications and educational technology, was selected to serve on the 2013- 14 Academic Affairs Committee of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. The committee considers the intellectual, social and personal aspects of pharmaceutical education to identify guidelines that will aid faculties in developing students to their maximum potential.

Stephan Schmidt, Ph.D., an assistant professor of pharmaceutics, has been selected as one of 10 recipients of the UF Excellence Awards for Assistant Professors 2013-14. Designated for junior faculty members to recognize potential for excellence in research, the $5,000 award supports travel, equipment, books, graduate students and other research-related expenses for the awardee’s research program.


College of Public Health and Health Professions

Gwen Creel, P.T., M.H.S., a lecturer and academic coordinator of clinical education in the department of physical therapy, received the 2013 Fred M. Rutan Outstanding Service Award from the Florida Physical Therapy Association. The award recognizes outstanding service to the profession of physical therapy within Florida and leadership in activities that have significantly affected professional growth and development for association members.

Jamie Pomeranz, Ph.D., an associate professor in the department of behavioral science and community health, has been named editor of the Journal of Life Care Planning, published by the International Association of Rehabilitation Professionals. The journal publishes the latest information regarding life care planning and aims to provide an academic foundation for this growing specialty.

UF Health Shands

Megan Molyneux, M.O.T., O.T.R./L., a UF Health Shands Rehab Hospital occupational therapist, was recognized as an outstanding fieldwork educator by the Florida OT Fieldwork Consortium and by the occupational therapy students from the University of St. Augustine. Part of Molyneux’s job consists of teaching level one practicum students about being comfortable in patient care, communicating with patients and teaching them how to engage patients in everyday activities.