June 2014 Distinctions


Association honors resident, Ph.D.-to-be


Andrew Smith

A national professional association recently honored a large animal surgery resident and doctoral candidate in the College of Veterinary Medicine for his achievements in the clinical, educational and scholarly arenas. Andrew Smith, D.V.M., received a Residents’ Award from the American Association of Veterinary Clinicians, an organization of veterinary clinicians engaged in teaching and research at the professional, graduate and postgraduate level. The award is given annually to two residents selected from all the veterinary residents in North America. Smith is the only current College of Veterinary Medicine resident who is simultaneously pursuing a doctorate. A recipient of the university’s Graduate School Fellowship, his thesis work focuses on the use of a magnetic resonance imaging scoring system to map the progression of osteoarthritis following a traumatic joint injury.

 Rock-star researchers

Eleven faculty members from UF Health colleges were recently named UF Research Foundation professors for 2014-2017. The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields. The selective three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant. The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products.

College of Medicine: Chen Liu Lauren M. McIntyre Lyle L. Moldawer Rolf Renne Mark S. Segal Andrew M. Kaunitz

College of Dentistry: Ozlem Yilmaz

College of Nursing: Jeanne-Marie R. Stacciarini

College of Pharmacy: Charles A. Peloquin

College of Public Health and Health Professions: Catherine Price

College of Veterinary Medicine: Rosanna Marsella


College of Dentistry

Carol Stewart, D.D.S., M.S., a professor in the department of oral and maxillofacial diagnostic sciences, was selected to serve as president of the American Academy of Oral Medicine 2014-15. Stewart also serves as the college’s interim associate dean for clinical affairs, works in clinical teaching and serves in the UF Health Oral Medicine Clinic.


College of Medicine

Edward J. Wilkinson, M.D., a professor and vice chair
of the department of pathology, immunology and laboratory medicine, has received the American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology’s highest honor — the Distinguished Service Award. Wilkinson received the award for his 11 years of service as the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Lower Genital Tract Disease. The award was presented April 11.


College of Public Health and Health Professions

Shellie-Anne Levy, M.S., a neuropsychology intern, has received a National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke Diversity Supplement to fund her postdoctoral fellowship in the department of clinical and health psychology under the mentorship of Catherine Price, Ph.D., an associate professor. The supplement will support Levy’s training in the brain white matter circuits that contribute to executive decline in individuals with Parkinson’s disease.

Mary Peoples-Sheps, Dr.P.H., received the Mase Distinguished Leadership Award in honor of her leadership in interdisciplinary collaboration at the college’s spring convocation ceremony May 2. As the college’s senior associate dean for public health, she has been instrumental in the development and implementation of public health education at UF, including the establishment of public health certificate and degree programs as well as new departments and infrastructure within the college. She twice led PHHP’s multiyear effort to achieve accreditation from the Council on Education for Public Health. The award is named for the college’s founding dean Darrel J. Mase, a pioneer in interdisciplinary health education.