Recognizing the honors, awards and achievements of faculty, staff and students

Wired for success

For the second consecutive year, UF Health has received recognition for information technology initiatives that better connect patients’ various health care providers in order to provide better medical care. In July, UF Health was named among the nation’s “Most Wired” by “Hospitals and Health Networks,” the flagship publication of the American Hospital Association. Most Wired hospitals meet a specific set of criteria across four categories: infrastructure, clinical quality and safety, clinical integration, and business and administrative management. — Marilee Griffin

Building a translational science team

UF’s Clinical and Translational Science Institute honors 40 researchers through various programs.

CTSI Pilot Project Awardees

Twenty-five researchers have received one-year CTSI Pilot Project Awards totaling more than $455,000 in support of interdisciplinary clinical and translational research. College of Dentistry: Yenisel Cruz-Almeida, MSPH, Ph.D.; Joseph L. Riley III, Ph.D.; Kimberly Sibille, Ph.D. College of Engineering: Magdoom Kulam Najmudeen College of Journalism & Communications: Kristina Birnbrauer College of Medicine: Abdullah Ahmad, Ph.D.; Nikolett Biel, Ph.D.; Barry Byrne, M.D., Ph.D.; Ann Chauffe, D.O.; Darin Falk, Ph.D.; Phillip Doerfler, Yuan Lu, Amber Muehlmann, Ph.D.; Lucia Notterpek, Ph.D.; Glyn Palmer, Ph.D.; Adrian Todd, Ph.D. College of Nursing: Hyochol “Brian” Ahn, Ph.D., ARNP, ANP-BC; Charlene Krueger, Ph.D., R.N. College of Pharmacy: Guohua An, Ph.D., M.D.; Rhonda Cooper-DeHoff, Pharm.D., M.S., FAHA, FACC; Hartmut Derendorf, Ph.D. College of Public Health and Health Professions: David Fedele, Ph.D.; Catherine Price, Ph.D., ABPP College of Veterinary Medicine: Mansour Mohamadzadeh, Ph.D.; Cuong Nguyen, Ph.D. 

CTSI Scholars

Adam Woods, Ph.D., an assistant professor of aging and geriatric research, received a CTSI KL2 scholar award • Christa Cook, Ph.D., M.S.N., and Amy Vittor, M.D., Ph.D., were accepted into the CTSI Training and Research Academy for Clinical and Translational Science • Students Dane Phelan, Shannon Roff and Jacquelyn Walejko received CTSI TL1 training grants.

CTSI Master Mentors

The CTSI Mentor Academy recently inducted nine faculty members as its inaugural members following completion of the yearlong Master Mentor Program: Linda Cottler, Ph.D., M.P.H.; Sylvain Doré, Ph.D.; Jennifer Elder, Ph.D., R.N.; Roger Fillingim, Ph.D.; Reginald Frye, Pharm.D., Ph.D.; Marian Limacher, M.D.; Bin Liu, Ph.D.; Mildred Maldonado-Molina, Ph.D.; and Ann Progulske-Fox, Ph.D.

College of Medicine

Paul Carney, M.D., director of the Pediatric Comprehensive Epilepsy Program and the Wilder chair for epilepsy research, was recently elected to a four-year term for the Epilepsy Foundation National Professional Advisory Board. The Epilepsy Foundation is an advocacy organization dedicated to promoting research for a cure. Carney has authored more than 150 peer-reviewed publications and is a member of several professional societies. 

Frederick A. Moore, M.D., a professor and chief of acute care surgery, has been named the American College of Critical Care Medicine’s 2015 Distinguished Investigator. Moore joined UF Health in 2011 from Houston Methodist Hospital, where he led the division of surgical critical care and acute care surgery. At UF Health, Moore has led the implementation of new, hospitalwide protocols for recognizing and treating sepsis in patients.

Juan Salgado, M.D., an assistant professor in the department of medicine, has been named director of the section of pulmonary transplantation and the medical director of the lung transplantation service. Salgado previously served as interim director for both programs.

David E. Winchester, M.D., M.S., was named Heart Disease Researcher of the Year by the Florida Heart Research Institute. The award was presented at the Florida American College of Cardiology chapter meeting. This prestigious award is given to the individual within Florida whose research is felt to have the broadest impact on the advancement of knowledge in the diagnosis and treatment of cardiovascular disease.

Karl L. Womer, M.D., a professor of medicine, has been named medical director of the renal transplantation service and chief of the section of renal transplantation. He will also hold the Central Florida Kidney Center Inc. eminent scholar chair in nephrology and hypertension.

College of Pharmacy

Heather Hardin, Pharm.D., a clinical assistant professor in the college’s Medication Therapy Management Communication and Care Center, received the Upsher Excellence in Innovation Award from the Florida Pharmacy Association in July at its annual meeting. She was chosen as a practicing pharmacist who has demonstrated innovation that has led to improvements in patient care.

College of Veterinary Medicine

Thomas W. Vickroy, Ph.D., a professor in the department of physiological sciences, has been named executive associate dean of the college. Vickroy teaches veterinary pharmacology and previously has taught both small and large animal clinical pharmacology to D.V.M. students. He also teaches graduate students several subjects, including cellular neurophysiology, molecular and cellular neurobiology, mammalian pharmacology and advanced toxicology, both in the College of Veterinary Medicine and in the College of Medicine.