Distinctions Nov. 2017


College of Dentistry

Scott Tomar, D.M.D., M.P.H., a professor and chair of community dentistry and behavioral science, was one of two recipients of the Florida Dental Hygienists’ Association Presidential Oral Health Hero Award. The award recognized his dedication to increasing the awareness of oral health in Florida and advocating for the public’s access to quality oral health care.

College of Nursing

Ragnhildur “Raga” Bjarnadottir, Ph.D., R.N., a postdoctoral associate in the UF College of Nursing and the UF Informatics Institute, received AcademyHealth’s Interdisciplinary Research Group on Nursing Issues’ 2017 New Investigator of the Year award. She was also selected for the American Academy of Nursing Jonas Policy Scholar Program’s 2017-2019 cohort.

Tonja Hartjes, D.N.P., ARNP, a clinical associate professor, served as the editor of the recently published text “Core Curriculum for High Acuity, Progressive and Critical Care Nursing.” This serves as core curriculum for critical care nursing and a study guide for the national certification exam.

College of Medicine

Nicole lovine, M.D., Ph.D., FIDSA, an associate professor of medicine, has been selected as a fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America, the nation’s leading infectious diseases professional society. Applicants for IDSA Fellowship must be nominated by their peers and meet specified criteria, including continuing identification with the field of infectious diseases, national or regional.

Benjamin K. Canales, M.D., M.P.H., an associate professor in the department of urology, has won Cook Medical’s Arthur Smith Award, which recognizes physicians for their creativity and dynamic innovation in the field of urology. He also leads the Urology Stone Service at the Malcom Randall VA Medical Center, one of busiest kidney stone VA programs in the country.

College of Medicine-Jacksonville

Steven A. Godwin, M.D., FACEP, a professor and chair of emergency medicine and assistant dean for simulation education, was named the 2017 Distinguished Educator in Simulation by the Simulation Academy of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine. Godwin was recognized for his contributions to simulation-based training in emergency medicine.

College of Pharmacy

Joshua Brown, Pharm.D., Ph.D., an assistant professor of pharmaceutical outcomes and policy, has received the 2017 Research Starter Grant in Health Outcomes from the PhRMA Foundation. His research proposal was titled “Comparative effectiveness of direct-acting oral anticoagulants (DOACs) in non-valvular atrial fibrillation (NVAF): Contrasting methodological approaches using real-world data.”

Oliver Grundmann, Ph.D., a clinical associate professor, received recognition for “Excellence in Achievement” from the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, or ACCP. Grundmann, the college’s director of online graduate education programs in pharmaceutical chemistry and clinical toxicology, began his association with the ACCP as a student member in 2006, then as a professional member in 2011.

Stephan Schmidt, Ph.D., F.C.P., an associate professor, has been selected to participate in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Catalyst: Accelerating Research Leadership. Schmidt joins a cohort of 12 individuals who represent rising leaders in research. Schmidt, an associate chair of the department of pharmaceutics at the Lake Nona campus and the associate director of the Center for Pharmacometrics and Systems Pharmacology, is also the college’s inaugural recipient of the Certara Endowed Professorship.

Kalen Manasco, Pharm.D., BCPS, a clinical professor of pharmacotherapy and translational research, was elected to the highest honor the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, or ACCP, Board of Regents offers: fellowship in the college. The election recognizes and rewards the highest levels of excellence in the practice and science of clinical pharmacy.

Stacey Curtis, Pharm.D., a clinical assistant professor of pharmacotherapy and translational research, received the National Community Pharmacists Association, or NCPA, Foundation’s Outstanding Faculty Liaison of the Year Award. The honor is given to a faculty liaison who demonstrates exceptional leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy, his or her NCPA student chapter and the community.

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Babette Brumback, Ph.D., a professor in the department of biostatistics, was elected to serve as a member of the International Biometric Society Eastern North American Region’s regional committee for a three-year term. The society seeks to advance biological science through the development of quantitative theories and the application, development and dissemination of effective mathematical and statistical techniques.