Distinctions-January 2018

Honors and Awards

College of Dentistry

Abi Adewumi, B.D.S., DFSR, a professor in the department of pediatric dentistry, and Josephine Esquivel-Upshaw, D.D.S., a professor in the department of restorative dental sciences, have been inducted as Fellows into the American College of Dentists, the oldest major honorary organization for dentists. Its members have exemplified excellence through outstanding leadership and exceptional contributions to dentistry and society.

Nine faculty members honored at 2017 Celebrating Distinction event

Nine faculty members within the UF Health academic health center were recognized for receiving endowed professorships or chairs during the sixth annual Celebrating Distinction ceremony held at the Evelyn F. and William L. McKnight Brain Institute of the University of Florida. To commemorate the appointments, each faculty member received a chair made of solid maple hardwood featuring an engraved gold nameplate.
Appointment to a professorship or chair is one of the highest honors a college can bestow on its faculty, and it’s reserved for those with national or international acclaim. The following UF Health faculty members received endowed professorships or chair appointments. By Tyler Francischine

College of Dentistry

Robert A. Burne, Ph.D.
Louis and Margaret Atkins Professorship

College of Medicine

Vincent G. Bird, M.D.
David A. Cofrin Endowed Chair in Endourology

Melissa Elder, M.D., Ph.D.
Lowe Family Professorship in Pediatric Immunology and Allergies

Lance S. Governale, M.D., FAANS, FAAP
L.D. Hupp Term Professorship for Pediatric Neurosurgery

Michael S. Jaffee, M.D.
Bob Paul Family Professorship of Neurology for Research in Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders

Irene A. Malaty, M.D.
Barbara Padgett Dein Professorship in Parkinson’s

Li-Ming Su, M.D.
David A. Cofrin Professor of Urologic Oncology

Gilbert R. Upchurch Jr., M.D.
Edward R. Woodward Professorship

College of Pharmacy

Stephan Schmidt, Ph.D., F.C.P.
Certara Endowed Professorship

College of Nursing

Versie Johnson-Mallard, Ph.D., ARNP, FAAN, an associate professor and chair of the department of family, community and health system science, has been named associate dean for student affairs at the college. Johnson-Mallard, who came to the college in 2015 from the University of South Florida College of Nursing, is co-chair of the American Academy of Nursing’s Women’s Health Expert Panel and is a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholar.