September 2018 – Distinctions


College of Dentistry

Deeba Kashtwari, B.D.S., M.S., a clinical assistant professor in the UF Department of Oral & Maxillofacial Diagnostic Sciences, has been appointed program director for the UF Oral & Maxillofacial Radiology Residency Program. She has served as interim program director since August 2016. She is also the division director for oral and maxillofacial radiology, and is involved in predoctoral and graduate dental education, and radiology’s faculty practice. She also participates in clinical research and serves as the radiation safety officer for the college.

Joseph Riley III, Ph.D., was appointed interim associate dean for faculty affairs effective July 23.. Riley is a tenured professor in the department of community dentistry and behavioral science, and director of the Pain Clinical Research Unit in the UF Pain Research and Intervention Center of Excellence. He also serves as the deputy director of the South Atlantic Region of the National Dental Practice-Based Research Network.

College of Pharmacy

Eric Krause, Ph.D., an associate professor of pharmacodynamics, has been named a UF Research Foundation professor for 2018-21. The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continued distinction in their fields. Krause will receive a three-year $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant to assist him in his research projects.

Thomas Schmittgen, Ph.D., a professor, has been appointed chair of the department of pharmaceutics. He will be responsible for advancing the department’s research priorities, including translational drug development, drug delivery and pharmacometrics and systems pharmacology. In addition to leading current faculty, he will help the department recruit additional faculty to strengthen its research and educational missions.

Yu-Jung “Jenny’’ Wei, Ph.D., an assistant professor in the department of pharmaceutical outcomes and policy, has received a UF Excellence Award for assistant professors. The selection committee, consisting of faculty members from various UF colleges, were inspired by the letters written on Wei’s behalf and gratified to see the strength of her research. The award comes with $5,000 to advance the award recipients’ research.

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Sherrilene Classen, Ph.D., M.P.H., OTR/L, a professor and chair of the department of occupational therapy, is one of two UF faculty members selected as a Southeastern Conference Academic Consortium Academic Leadership Development Program Fellow for 2018-2019. Fellows will participate in workshops at the University of Kentucky and University of Tennessee as well as local leadership initiatives, all designed to cultivate the next generation of leaders within SEC institutions.

College of Medicine

Jay Clugston, M.D., an associate professor of community health and family medicine, clinical associate professor of neurology and UF Athletic Association team physician, has received the 2018 SEC Team Physician of the Year award from the Southern Orthopaedic Association. As a result of the award, the UF athletic training staff will receive $1,000 from DJO Global to be used for student athletic trainer education.

Laurence M. Solberg, M.D., the vice chair for clinical operations at the UF Institute on Aging and the Ruth Jewett Professor of Geriatric Medicine, has been named a fellow of the Gerontological Society of America, or GSA, in the health sciences section. The GSA is the nation’s largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to the field of aging and the status of fellow is an acknowledgment of outstanding and continuing work in gerontology.

Kyle E. Rarey, Ph.D., a professor in the department of anatomy and cell biology and director of the Center for Anatomical Sciences Education, has been chosen to receive the 2018 Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges. Rarey has received 32 awards for excellence in teaching, including the annual UF College of Medicine Exemplary Teacher award, which he earned each year from 2011 through 2014. He received the Golden Apple Teaching Award 11 times and the UF College of Medicine Teacher of the Year award five times. To recognize Rarey’s positive influence on students over his 49-year career, students from the class of 2020 established the Kyle E. Rarey, Ph.D., Award for Excellence in Anatomical Sciences in 2017. In March 2018, the Society of Teaching Scholars awarded Rarey its Lifetime Achievement Award.

College of Veterinary Medicine

Christopher Adin, D.V.M., has been named chair of the college’s department of small animal clinical sciences. Adin previously served on the college faculty as an assistant professor of small animal surgery between 2001 and 2006. He now serves as an associate professor of soft tissue and oncologic surgery in the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine’s department of clinical sciences, a position he has held since 2015.

James W. Lloyd, D.V.M., Ph.D., dean of the college, has received the 2018 Distinguished Life Member Award from VetPartners, a nonprofit association of veterinary business specialists. Lloyd is one of only 13 members to have received the honor, which VetPartners bestows annually in recognition of noteworthy and outstanding contributions to the practice of veterinary business consulting.

Guy Lester, Ph.D., has been named chair of the department of large animal clinical sciences. Lester previously served on the department’s faculty between 1991 and 2002 in the area of large animal medicine. Lester now serves as an associate professor of equine medicine, head of the equine section and academic chair of the D.V.M. program at Murdoch University’s College of Veterinary Medicine in Murdoch, Western Australia. He has been on faculty at Murdoch University since leaving UF in 2002. He will begin his new position on Nov. 15.