May 2019 – Distinctions

UF Health Newsletter


C. Parker Gibbs Jr., M.D., an orthopaedic oncologist and chief medical officer for UF Health Shands, has been named senior associate dean for clinical affairs,
a position most recently held by Timothy C. Flynn, M.D., until his retirement in April after nine years in the role. Marvin Dewar, M.D., J.D., will remain senior
associate dean and chief executive officer of UF Health Physicians.

Mark Segal, M.D., Ph.D., chief of the division of nephrology at UF since 2010, will serve as the senior associate dean for faculty affairs and professional development.

Ellen Zimmermann, M.D., a professor of medicine in the division of gastroenterology and vice chair for academic affairs for the department of medicine, will serve as associate dean for faculty development.

Alicia Mohr, M.D., FACS, FCCM, has been appointed the division chief of acute care surgery in the department of surgery, becoming the first woman to hold the title. She arrived at UF Health in 2014 and is the program director for both the surgical critical care fellowship as well as the acute care surgery fellowship. She is also the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including the Fellow American College Critical Care Medicine Award and the Lester R. Dragstedt


Joseph Bisesi, Ph.D., an assistant professor in the department of environmental and global health, and Christopher Martyniuk, Ph.D., an associate professor in the UF College of Veterinary Medicine’s department of physiological sciences, have received the Annual Best Paper Award presented by the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry. The award recognizes the most outstanding paper published in the journal Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry in the prior calendar year.

Babette Brumback, Ph.D., a professor and associate chair of education in the department of biostatistics in the college and in the UF College of Medicine,
was selected as a Fellow of the American Statistical Association. Contributions considered in selecting fellows include published works, position held with employer, ASA activities, membership and accomplishments in other societies, and professional activities.

Meryl Alappattu, Ph.D., D.P.T., P.T.; Jason Beneciuk, Ph.D., D.P.T., P.T.; Kim Dunleavy, Ph.D., P.T., O.C.S., FNAP; and Emily Fox, Ph.D., D.P.T., P.T., have been selected by the American Physical Therapy Association for national honors. Alappattu, a research assistant professor, won the Margaret L. Moore Award for Outstanding New Faculty Member. Beneciuk, a research assistant professor, won the Chattanooga Research Award. Dunleavy, a clinical associate professor, won the Societal Impact Award. Fox, a research assistant professor, won the Eugene Michels New Investigator Award.


Leslie Parker, Ph.D., APRN, FAAN, a clinical associate professor, was selected for the UF Undergraduate Faculty Advising/Mentor Award for 2018/2019. In the nomination letter for Parker, Department Chair and associate professor Ann Horgas, R.N., Ph.D., FGSA, FAAN, wrote that Parker “engages students in her
research, facilitates their ‘ownership’ of their research projects and builds effective research teams. She truly partners with the students to guide them, while at the same time holding them to high standards of personal responsibility and productivity.’’


The University of Florida Research Foundation has named the UFRF Professors for 2019-2022. The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

“The UFRF Professorships recognize our most innovative and productive faculty, the best examples of researchers and scholars who have helped UF claim its place as a Top 10 public university,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research. “Key to this recognition is that it is based not just on what they have done in the past, but what they are expected to achieve in the future.”

The UFRF Professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise.

The three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant. The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products.

Here are this year’s UFRF Professors from the health-related colleges:

College of Dentistry
Marcelle Nascimento, D.D.S., Ph.D., associate professor  of restorative dental sciences

College of Medicine
Shannon Boye, Ph.D., associate professor of ophthalmology

Kelly Foote, M.D., professor of neurological surgery

Benoit Giasson, Ph.D., professor of neuroscience Joanna Long, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry and molecular biology

Duane Mitchell, M.D., Ph.D., professor of neurosurgery

College of Medicine – Jacksonville

Mark Hudak, M.D., professor of pediatrics

College of Nursing
Jeanne-Marie Stacciarini, Ph.D., R.N., associate professor of health care environments and systems

College of Pharmacy
Rhonda Cooper-Dehoff, PharmD., associate professor of pharmacotherapy

College of Public Health and Health Professions
Ronald Cohen, Ph.D., professor of clinical and health psychology

College of Veterinary Medicine
Rowan J. Milner, Ph.D., BVSc, professor of oncology