October 2019 – Distinctions



Eleonora Bakiri, D.D.S., a clinical assistant professor in endodontics, was appointed program director for the endodontics predoctoral program. As program director, she is responsible for oversight of the endodontics didactic, preclinical and clinics predoctoral curriculum. She also provide endodontics care for patients in the UF Health Endodontics Faculty Practice.

Marcio Guelmann, D.D.S., a professor and chair of the UF the department of pediatric dentistry and director of special projects and strategic initiatives, has been inducted as a member of the board of directors for the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry.

Cesar Migliorati, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D., a professor in the department of oral & maxillofacial sciences and the associate dean for clinical affairs and quality, has assumed the position of president of the American Board of Oral Medicine.

Patricia Pereira, D.D.S., Ph.D., a clinical associate professor in the department of restorative dentistry division of operative dentistry, has been appointed the new associate dean of academic affairs. Pereira has served as program director in the master’s in operative dentistry program since 2016.


Monica Aggarwal, M.D., a clinical associate professor in the division of cardiovascular medicine and the director of integrative cardiology and prevention, has been named the “Stop Heart Disease” Researcher of the Year by the Florida chapter of the American College of Cardiology. Aggarwal, who is also the director of medical education for cardiology, focuses on promoting food as the foundation of healing and for its medicinal value.


Michelle Farland, Pharm.D., a clinical associate professor of pharmacotherapy and translational research, is the new president of the Team-Based Learning Collaborative, a nonprofit organization of educators from around the world who encourage and support the use of team-based learning in all levels of education.

Almut Winterstein, Ph.D., a professor and the Dr. Robert and Barbara Crisafi Chair of Pharmaceutical Outcomes and Policy, has been installed as president of the International Society of Pharmacoepidemiology. She has held numerous leadership positions with the group during the previous two decades.


Ashby Walker, Ph.D., an assistant professor of Health Services Research, Management & Policy and the director for health equity initiatives in the UF Diabetes Institute, has been named one of the People to Know in 2019 by Diabetes Forecast magazine. She was recognized for her role in starting the Directed Research in Type 1 Diabetes class for students with a personal connection to the disease.

UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville Leaders Receive Honors

Three leaders and women of distinction at the University of Florida College of Medicine – Jacksonville have been recognized for significant achievements by national, state and local organizations.

Chandana Lall, M.D., M.B.A., FSAR; Shahla Masood, M.D.; and Nipa Shah, M.D., head key departments for the college and are working to advance medicine and enhance the patient experience at UF Health Jacksonville and beyond.

Lall, a professor and chair of the department of radiology, has been selected for the prestigious International Education Committee for the Society of Abdominal Radiology for 2019. The education committee provides leading-edge educational imaging courses in different parts of the world each year.

Masood, a professor and chair of the department of pathology and laboratory medicine, has been named an emeritus for the board of directors of the Florida Breast Cancer Foundation. Masood, who specializes in multiple areas of pathology for UF Health Jacksonville, was singled out by the board for her dedication, service and significant contributions to the foundation.

Shah, a professor who has been chair of the department of community health and family medicine since 2011, was recently named a 2019 Woman of Influence honoree by the Jacksonville Business Journal. The Jacksonville Business Journal recognizes those who have made a difference in growing their companies, mentoring the next generation of professional women and guiding the area into the future.